Breakfast for Dinner – Whole Wheat Pancakes

I came home tonight to an awesome sight…a griddle full of pancakes.  I had no idea what the wife was going to be making for dinner and it was a nice surprise to see the hotcakes cooking away.  She said she had been craving some pancakes and making them at home is waaaay healthier than going to Cracker Barrel.  Out on one of her blogs the wife found a recipe for whole wheat pancakes.  I know what you’re thinking…gross.  I am here to tell you, scouts honor, that these were great.

IMG_3217

Since I came home as dinner was in progress, I can’t tell if the recipe was easy or not.  Since there were no complaints about the prep from the wife, I can assume it was a breeze.  Measuring out the pancakes per the recipe made exactly fourteen little pancakes.  They already smelled great and I wanted to eat the entire stack.

To make it a meal we paired the pancakes with some fresh fruit salad and a couple of Jimmy Dean Maple Turkey Sausage patties.  I’m pretty sure this is the first time we tried this particular turkey sausage patty and I think we were both pretty shocked at how good they were.  For only 100 calories for the two patties, that’s not too shabby.

When we got ready to eat, I spread some JIF all natural peanut butter on my three pancakes.  It gave IMG_3218them a little extra sweetness…and plus, peanut butter is awesome.  Pour on some Hungry Jack Lite Syrup and we were in business.  On the other hand, the wife put some lite butter and lite whip cream on top of hers.  Since the pancakes were fairly low in calories I went ahead and ate me a fourth.  Don’t judge.

Moral of this story…breakfast for dinner is always a good idea.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour (I used white whole wheat)
  • 4 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups + 2 tbsp fat free milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • cooking spray

Directions:

  1. Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Add wet ingredients to the mixing bowl and mix well with a spoon until there are no more dry spots; don’t over-mix.
  3. Heat a large skillet on medium heat.
  4. Lightly spray oil to coat and pour 1/4 cup of pancake batter.
  5. When the pancake starts to bubble, you may add your fruit if you wish.
  6. When the bubbles settle and the edges begin to set, flip the pancakes.
  7. Repeat with the remainder of the batter.

Makes 14 pancakes.

Leave a Reply

