Man-cessities: Beer – La Fin du Monde

IMG_3412

I haven’t done one of these posts in a bit, so I figured I would do one on something I like a lot…beer.  I started getting into the good beers later in life, but that just means I have some ground to make up.  Getting a late start made me rely on the knowledge and good taste of others to point me in the right direction.  That direction lead me to what is now one of my favorite beers, La Fin Du Monde.  Not only does this beer make you sound fancy when saying the name, the name literally means “the end of the world” in French.

I came across this stuff at one of my favorite places to eat in Vegas, The Burger Bar.  Again, not unibroue-la-fin-du-mondeknowing what to get off of their extensive beer menu I went with what one of the other guys I was with was having.  It just so happened he was getting one of Unibroue’s finest…La Fin Du Monde.  I didn’t know what to expect, but I was extremely happy with the results.  After one glass I was ready for more.  However, you slow your roll a bit with this one as it’s got a pretty decent alcohol content at 9.0% (your standard Bud is 5.0%).

Going by the Unibroue’s site, they explain the taste of the beer quite well:

  • Nose: Floral bouquet, aromas of honey, spice, coriander, malt, and alcohol
  • Flavor: Mildly yeasty with a complex palate of malt, fruit and spice notes followed by a smooth, dry finish

If you don’t want to take my word for it on this beer, just check out the BeerAdvocate site and the rave reviews there.  I started out just being a light beer guy, but my tastes have definitely grown.  This one sits atop my list as one that I always go to if I want a great beer.  So do yourself a favor, unwrap the foil top, pop the cap, grab you tulip glass (it’s recommended on the bottle), and drink up.  Because this my friends, is maybe one of the best things to come out of Canada.

Prost!

Leave a Reply

