Crock Pot Pork and Apples

IMG_4372It’s been a while since I’ve updated this thing, but life has been hectic.  Our little one started preschool, the wife is back to molding the minds of the youth of America, and somehow our social lives blew up for a month.  In any case, we’re back to cooking up meals at home, which means recipes and pics of my food.  Lucky you!

This one I actually was able to put together…and even with only about four ingredients, almost managed to screw it up.  The wife gave me a simple goal of putting the ingredients into the slow cooker and turning it on.  That was almost too much.  The great thing about this recipe is that it literally has six ingredients.  It’s almost too simple.  For our version we used a pork loin instead of chops and I don’t think there was any real difference.  It cooked up great.  About noon I cut up the apples into eights and sliced up the onion nice and thin.  I seasoned the loin with salt and pepper and placed it into the bottom of the crock pot.  I then mixed up the brown sugar, mustard, apples, and onions in a bowl.  Once mixed, I threw them on top of the pork and turned the crock pot on low for six hours.

The screw up part here was that I couldn’t find the spicy mustard.  I ended up using Dijon, which worked, but I couldn’t find the spicy mustard.  I assumed my wife didn’t get it from the store.  It didn’t even occur to me to check the pantry…WHERE WE KEEP THE MUSTARD THAT ISN’T OPENED.  Low and behold, there was the spicy mustard.  Maybe next time.

To go along side of the pork and apples, we baked up some carrots and broccoli in the oven.  Simple olive oil, salt, and pepper to season the veggies and you’re good to go.  Pop them in the oven flip once, and you’re set.  Mashed potatoes…potatoes…mash them.  Serve everything and enjoy.

The pork turned out nice and tender.  The apples were super soft and sweet.  I think the Dijon made the pork a little sweeter, but definitely not bad at all.  I used a bit of spicy mustard to dip the pork into and it added a great little bite.  This will definitely make it into the rotation as it’s something simple that I can put together over lunch while I’m at home.

Here’s the recipe folks thanks to Eat, Live, Run (another favorite blog of the wife)…slow cook and enjoy!

Crock Pot Pork and Apples

serves 4-6

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 lbs pork chops
  • 3 sliced apples {gala works nice}
  • 1 yellow onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp spicy mustard
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Place the pork chops at the bottom of your crock pot.
  2. Cover with remaining ingredients, place the top on and cook on low for about 6 hours.
  3. Season with additional salt and pepper to taste right before serving.

 

Leave a Reply

