Mancessities – Beer: Rhinegeist

IMG_3412Beer.  It’s one of my favorite things.  One of the best parts about living around Cincinnati, OH is that it’s a town ripe with beer history.  We’ve got a nice group of breweries in town and now have a new one to add to that list…Rhinegeist.  If you are in or around Cincinnati or can somehow find out how to get some of this company’s brews, do it.  I’ve had three different ones so far and they have been downright delicious.

I’ve been seeing ads for Rhinegeist for at least a month.  They threw an opening party for one of their beers, Saber Tooth Tiger, and just based on the logo and name I wanted to try it.  Unfortunately, living in the suburbs and having a family, getting to late night beer tappings can be a bit tricky.  Even after they opened the brewery for folks to come get beer, it was hard to justify a 30-40 minute drive for a growler of beer.  So, I did what I had to do.  Plan a family outing near downtown in hopes of making it to Rhinegiest for some beer…and it worked!

After a short stopover at the Children’s Museum, I was dropped off with a friend to grab a couple growlers of beer.  We walked up a few flights of stairs to this giant open area.  A quick turn to the left and you could see exactly where the beer was being brewed.  Right next to that was my holy land…the taps.  While Saber Tooth wasn’t on tap anymore we decided to walk out with a 32oz growler of Rhinegeist’s Truth (type of beer) and Mosaic (type of beer).  We paid the friendly lady pouring the beer and we were on our way.  The wife swung back around the block to pick us up and we headed home to try out what Rhinegeist had to offer.

Truth was legit.  It’s a delicious IPA with hints of citrus/fruits as it goes down.  We burned through that one in a day (and one Fantasy Football draft).  Next up was Mosaic.  Mosaic is an American Pale Ale that was damn smooth going down.  Lastly was Saber Tooth Tiger.  A beast of a name and an equally beastly brew.  I found one of the last taps of this one at a restaurant near Mason, OH.  Saber Tooth Tiger is an Imperial IPA that may be one of my favorites.  I went through the entire 32 oz growler at my last Fantasy Football draft.  It may not have helped me pick a good team, but it definitely helped me get over my picks.  Plus, you look like a bad ass drinking straight from the growler.

If you are a beer lover and around Cincinnati, you have to get down to Rhinegiest…or at least find somewhere they are serving it.  Three different beers in and they’ve gone to the top of my list.  Now I just have to find more Cincinnati based activities!  Find them at the links below and give them a Like/Follow.

Web Site
Facebook
Twitter

One thought on “Mancessities – Beer: Rhinegeist

  1. I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the
    layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to
    see a great blog like this one today.

Leave a Reply

