Dinner: Sausage and Corn Chowder

securedownloadWhen it’s zero degrees outside, it’s time to make some soup.  Judging by this winter, we’ll be having soup until June.  I normally like thicker, heartier soups.  The wife…she likes them all.  When she pulled up a chowder recipe I was on board.  These can be the thicker consistency that I like…and in this case, full of sausage and potatoes. So, I was game.

As are with most of our recipes, we look for something quick and simple.  This one is no different.  Coming together in about a half an hour, this is right up our alley.  In addition, I was able to do it all by myself (pats self on back)!

Essentially, we’re throwing everything into a pot and cooking it up.  I’m not going to argue with a recipe that makes me cook vegetables in the leftovers from the meat cooking.  I mean, that’s just saving and reusing deliciousness.  I will recommend cutting the potatoes up fairly small to allow them to cook quickly, but other than that this comes together easily.  The second time we made it in a week (you read that right), the wife added a little extra corn.  For me, I added bacon on top.  I think it just goes to show how you can make up the recipe to fit your liking or just as is.

So, thanks again to Mix and Match Mama for another great recipe.  The wife always finds great blogs to get recipes from…and for her, this one happens to be the sister of her favorite Bachelor contestant…OMG Sean Lowe!  I could take or leave that part, just give me the food!  I’m going to assume we’ll be seeing more recipes from here in the future.  Until then, heat up the chowder and get to spooning it into your face!

Beer of the Night: Bell’s Two Hearted Ale

Sausage and Corn Chowder

Ingredients
  • 1 pound sausage (pork, turkey, chicken…just a good quality sausage…you can even use something like Owen’s breakfast sausage)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 potatoes, peeled and chopped (the smaller you chop the potatoes, the faster the soup will cook)
  • 3 cups of milk
  • 2 bay leaves, dried or fresh
  • 1 can cream corn
  • Cheddar cheese
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO) and Salt & Pepper, of course!
Directions
  1. In a large pot, brown sausage in a little EVOO.  Remove browned sausage into a bowl and cover with foil to keep warm  (we’ll put it back in at the end).
  2. Add chopped onion to pot and saute in sausage drippings.
  3. Add in potatoes, milk and bay leaves.  Simmer 20 minutes (or until potatoes are tender), stirring often.
  4. Once potatoes are fork tender, add sausage back into soup and also add in cream corn.  Heat through (another 5 minutes).
  5. Serve and top with cheese.
One thought on “Dinner: Sausage and Corn Chowder

Leave a Reply

