Lunch: Stuffed Mushroom and Swiss Burgers

securedownloadThere not a specific recipe for this post other than it was just delicious, so I figured I would put it up here.  It also goes along with one of the gift ideas I threw out for Father’s Day in this post here.  The stuffed burger press is a fun gadget to have around in the kitchen.  I don’t use it very often, but sometimes…on a special occasion, I want a monster burger.  This time around it happened to be Father’s Day and I wanted a monster burger dang it!

On the way home from church on Sunday the wife and I drove by Fresh Market to grab the ingredients for my burger.  I had a craving for a mushroom and swiss burger so I knew I would need some beef, mushrooms, and swiss cheese (duh).  Of course, if you know me, I had to grab some bacon to go on top of this thing.  I saw some peppered bacon in the case and figured it would go great with the burger I had planned out.  While we were there we also picked up some pre made loaded baked potato salad, baked beans, and some chips.  After a couple other random things (like some damn delicious heath bar cookies) we were on our way home.

The stuffed burger press is a thing of genius.  You put your meat into the bottom portion and press down with the other half that makes the indentation.  Once you have the hollowed out part, the top of the press is deep enough to make the top part of the burger.  In a few little pieces of plastic you have everything you need to make a nice stuffed burger that won’t fall apart on you when you throw it on the grill.  You can see in the pics below I just threw in some mushrooms and loaded up the swiss cheese on top of that.  Put the top patty on, press the edges a little to join the two, and done.

Needless to say, the burger was a success for me.  You know that I had to throw another piece of swiss on the top of the burger.  The lettuce that I added came straight from our garden.  I love a little mustard on a mushroom and swiss burger so with my minimal condiments on top and my bacon pieces I was ready to attempt to eat the thing.  One bite in and I was in heaven.  It doesn’t take a recipe sometimes to make something delicious.  Just a few ingredients, your imagination, and you’re set.  That’s a great part about stuffed burgers, the possibilities are endless.

Lunch Beer: 21st Amendment Hell or High Watermelon…that shizz is delicious.

 

Leave a Reply

