Dinner: Korean Beef Bowls

securedownloadIt’s a little bit surprising that I haven’t written about these things by now.  We’ve had them a least once a week for the past few weeks.  Just today the wife asked why I hadn’t put these up yet and I gave her the real answer…I’m lazy.  There’s been TV and sleep getting in the way.  In any case, it’s about time to talk about the amazingly delicious dinner that is Korean Beef Bowls.

The wife found these a few weeks back on one the blogs she frequents (Designer Bags and Dirty Diapers).  She told me that day that we were having Korean Beef Bowls…and, not going to lie…the name didn’t exactly sound that appealing to me.  Nothing like a bowl full of beef to get a guy excited.  In any case, I held out hope that this would be just like any other meal that the wife puts together.

I came home to the meal pretty much done.  There was a nice sweet, but spicy smell in the air.  In the oven were some Chang’s vegetable egg rolls cooking away (any other Chang’s are crap).  Just like most days it was up to me to just go ahead and shove the food into my face.  To add a bit of texture and other flavors to the recipe the wife added some snap peas and cut up some carrots.  As we like to do as well, we used the boil in a bag rice.  Cook smarter folks…not harder.

I went ahead and dug in once the plate hit the table.  I do have to say that the flavors here are really good.  You can taste the sweetness of the brown sugar, but also a little heat from the red peppers.  As I normally do, I added a bit of sriracha to give it just a bit more kick.  That is one of the nice things about this dish.  It allows you to make it as spicy as you would like.  This thing was a hit all around.  We’ve made it for multiple people now and everyone has loved it.  If you get an itch for an Asian inspired dish…I would definitely encourage you to hit these up first!

Korean Beef Bowls

Ingredients:
  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 Tablespoon sesame oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 – 1 teaspoon crushed red peppers (depending on how spicy you like it)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 bunch green onions, diced
  • Rice, cooked 
Directions:
  1. Heat a large skillet over medium heat and brown hamburger with garlic in the sesame oil.
  2. Drain most of the fat and add brown sugar, soy sauce, ginger, salt and pepper and red peppers.
  3. Simmer for a few minutes to blend the flavors. Serve over steamed rice and top with green onions.
Leave a Reply

