San Diego: Day 1

This past weekend the wife and I ventured out to San Diego.  We were headed out there for a cousin’s wedding, but figured we should take an extra day or two to enjoy the city.  We had never been to the area before and wanted to get in a much as we could…and did we.  These posts will be pretty short, but hopefully the pictures will fill you in on how awesome the city and surrounding areas are.

The first day we got in we did what I’ve done on just about all of my trips back to California since I was little…eat at In-N-Out.  My dad started taking me there as our first stop off the plane and I’ve carried on the tradition.  So, the first stop off the plane was for a Double-Double with grilled onions and fries (my standard).  The wife got hers with a milkshake and we were set.  I don’t need to tell you, or maybe I do, how delicious these burgers are.  Some of my favorite burgers of all time.

His and Hers In-N-Out!

His and Hers In-N-Out!

After a quick trip to the hotel (we stayed in Mission Valley which was pretty central to most things we did) we decided to hit Coronado Island…specifically, Hotel del Coronado.  From what a plaque said, it’s one of the oldest wooden hotels still around. While the hotel is pretty, the surrounding beaches, sand, and views are gorgeous.

Beaches at Hotel del Coronado.

Beaches at Hotel del Coronado.

In front of the hotel.

In front of the hotel.

Wife approved!

Wife approved!

We tried to get a picture of the sand as it looked like it had gold flakes in it.  We had never seen anything like it.  The picture definitely doesn’t do it justice.

GOLD!

GOLD!

After a bit more wandering around the beach we decided to check out more of the grounds and saw some custom Halloween sand castles and that the hotel has it’s own little garden.

I could totally do this.

I could totally do this.

Adorable little garden at the hotel.

Adorable little garden at the hotel.

After we walked around a bit we wandered into the town along the main drag.  At this point the In-N-Out was slightly wearing off and we started talking about where to eat.  Luckily we walked by this restaurant called Tavern that was having half priced appetizers.  That plus a nice beer list had me sold on stopping for a quick bite.

We enjoyed some pretty damn good food at Coronado Tavern.  It’s definitely not your Applebee’s half priced apps.  We enjoyed the following: mini mac and cheese, mini brussel sprouts, fresh mozzarella bites, an angus flat iron steak taco, and a coronado golden braised short rib slider.  It was all amazing…and my slider was adorable!  Not to mention grabbing my first beer in San Diego…an IPA from Alesmith Brewing Co.

Beer.

Beer.

IMG_9510

It was all soooo delicious.

IMG_9511

Look at how cute…the sandwich, I mean.

After dinner we walked back to the hotel and watch the sun set for a bit.  We had every intention of staying out a bit later on our first night, but we’re old…and were tired.  So we went to bed.  Exciting I know.  That being said, our first half day in San Diego was great and we still had more to see, do, eat, and drink!

Leave a Reply

