Weight Loss: Part 2

A week or so ago I posted a part of my weight loss journey as it pertains to the tech and steps I used and continue to use in order to have lost the weight and keep it off.  Now, it’s time for the reasons behind the want to lose weight…and some of the results.  I’ve kept the pictures after the jump so that I don’t scare anyone with the before pictures and how pale I am.  Seriously…if I had the ability to bend spoons with my mind, I would be the real life Powder.  But I digress….

There are a lot of reasons to lose weight, but the ones that motivate you are the ones close to your heart.  For me, one main motivation was my family.  I was not super overweight, but my health could have been better.  Topping out at 250lbs at one point, I was not in my prime (this is up from 200lbs at our wedding…9 years ago).  First of my motivators was my son.  I want him to grow up in a household where healthy eating habits and exercise are the normal.  Growing up as the chubby kid myself, I know what it’s like to be picked last in gym class and die a little inside when you have to be on the “skins” team.  Secondly, I want to be around as long as possible for the little guy.  As my father had Alzheimer’s there is a chance that I carry the gene as well.  I could develop the disease later in life or not…there’s no telling.  One of the factors to keep it from developing as fast if something may happen (knock on wood) is a healthy lifestyle.  While there is no cure to ALZ, keeping your body and mind active and healthy are things that are beneficial.

Another reason around the weight loss was general happiness with me.  I never had to go up in sizes really, but when your t-shirts start to get a bit tighter and you see that gut just get bigger…you want a change.  Losing even a few pounds at the start really changes how you feel physically and emotionally.  Just being five pounds down really gets you motivated to push for more, but also that satisfaction that you CAN do this.

In the end, it wasn’t hard.  Don’t get me wrong, it was work, but it wasn’t hard work.  It was rewarding work.  I think there is a difference there.  I’ve been up and down before, but over this past year it’s been a constant rate of down.  There are no tricks, crash diets, weird fads, or anything like that at work.  It’s simple diet/healthy eating and exercise.  You crash or use a fad diet…that weight is coming back on, guaranteed.  I know…I’ve been there.  You have to adjust your life, how you view food, how you eat, in order to make the biggest different and the longest lasting.

While over the past nine years I’ve put on 50 pounds of heft…it’s time for it to come off.  As of this post I’m under the 210 mark.  My goal is to get down to my wedding weight (200) and begin the next phase of trimming up.  Toning up will be a whole other journey, but one that will be well worth it.  So, here you go folks…the before and “in progress”.  Put on your sunglasses and maybe squint a little…my skin reflects light like a boss.

One thought on “Weight Loss: Part 2

Leave a comment